Jennie Nusbaum

December 11, 2010

KNOWLEDGE BASED PROPOSAL

Over the past three years in the Design Program I have learned to embrace the process of everything. When I look over a process binder I have a sense of completion and wholeness. What I enjoy most about this feeling is being able to see every bit of thought that is filtered through to reach an endpoint. Every jot down, every doodle, print out, found object, all stepping-stones to the next level. Sometimes I wish there was a way to include these things into the final piece so that the viewer can see how many ideas were grinded down and re-invented. The sketch process for me is the most exciting part. I try to spend as much time here as possible. This is where my passion for it all began and though I try to keep the integrity of my hand-done work in my design it often times gets lost in the technical hype. What I would like to explore for this thesis proposal is the process in which an idea is translated, and how do you balance the hand vs. the computer?

MATERIAL BASED PROPOSAL

I have always been a crafty person so the idea of creating design with new and exciting material definitely sparks my interests. I would like to use my current knowledge of typography and explore how different materials can lend themselves to different typefaces. To me, handmade type is something (when used appropriately) that can speak to a viewer on a humanistic level. Not only do you connect with the word content, but also the element of medium, which then begs the question.. who made this? what is their story? I would like to explore this thesis through numerous type applications focusing on different identities of moods. The imperfection and perfection of handmade type vs. regular type is also of interest in this thesis proposal.

SOCAIL BASED PROPOSAL

Back in high school I use to work at a teen center back in Ann Arbor called “The Neutral Zone”. The place was a hole-in-the-wall non-profit organization dedicated to providing a space for teens to essentially hang out, play pool, make art, record music, or just chill after school instead of being out on the street doing whatever else. This organization pushed youth expression through creativity, which is a concept that has stuck, as well as built me. Because of this experience I have collected a wide spectrum of creative people many of whom I still keep in touch with. This network is essential for an aspiring artist to have and lean on. I would like to explore the concept of pushing youth development through graphic art. I’m not sure exactly what this would include yet perhaps event posters, club fliers, creative opportunities, etc. This thesis offers a wide variety of ideas to explore while focusing on the social elevation of future designers.

3 Responses to “Jennie Nusbaum”

  1. art4610 Says:

    You added two directions in writing that are not included here and indicated your interest in using graphic design for social activism. Referencing Tibor Kalman ” diversity is positive and all cultures have equal value” how would you proceed to build on this? Genetic variety is well understood in maintaining strength of a species and we all practice design as a “No one correct answer” approach to reaching audiences. AND sharing ideas globally is fast and assessable. I’ve encountered designers who post visual responses to encourage dialog on specific current issues via pdf’s downloadable as posters, art for stickers, transfers for T-shirts, etc. as a means to spread a point of view. Colors magazine must have many means to encourage global interactions – in print, online. Your #1 “Nitch brand packaging” does identify how customized packaging can be for specific audiences. One way I might consider this further is by listing my own specialized brand preferences. What kind of picture might this paint? What we seek out generally is a reflection of our experiences. You might create a specialized nitch brand for a newly identified audience. Bruce

  2. art4610 Says:

    jennie,
    I am interested in seeing what you come up with for your thesis. It is a very interesting concept. I especially enjoyed the audio quality certain materials can make once a viewer interacts with them.

    here is a link that I think is a good example of how adding the element of fun to an ordinary object can bring new life to it.

  3. art4610 Says:

    oh, that was me Todd by the way =)


Leave a Reply

